First Timelaspe Compilation Piece: Arrow Valley Farm – Time at The Ranch.

Timelapse photography can be so rewarding and so frustrating. I have been using my Canon EOS 7D for nearly 12 months now, and have shot quite a few timelapses with it. Once the basics are understood, it is finding good subject matter that becomes the challenge.

While at The Watshan Catte Co. Ranch I was in awe of the amount of stars that were visible each night. Miles from anywhere the amount of light pollution was, well pretty much zero! So, I decided it was time to try and bring together as many Timelaspes of the night sky as possible and see if I could create something that would do it justice.

I had a few unsuccessful nights when condensation on the lens of my Tokina 11-16mm F/2.8 left me with only a few seconds of useable final product. I trashed these small timelaspes and asked for help from Timelaspe veteran Preston Kanak. He passed on a tip that allowed me to shoot right through the night without any issues of condensation / frost on the lens. It was so simple, yet worked so well.

I tweeted: “@prestonkanak any tips for condensation on lens in overnight TL’s?”

His reply was short and to the point “@JohnJoRitz Handwarmers.”

I got funny looks at the local store buying handwarmers and candles in spring, but I think it was worth it ūüôā

That night I set about stickytaping 4 handwarmers to the lens hood of the Tokina. I had already set the Canon up for its night shift and checked the handwarmers were not in frame, I hit the start button.

I repeated this process any night when the sky was clear. I wanted to use some light source to add some foreground detail and ended up using a regular candle. I had taken a large Bombay sapphire gin bottle, used and *angle grinder and a lot of safety gear to cut the top off, and placed the tapered candle inside. This was to keep it from going out, but also to make sure I did not cause a massive fire! *I do not recommend using naked flames, or cutting glass as it can cause serious injury!!!

Below is the finished piece. I recommend full screen and HD. I welcome feedback / constructive criticism.

Settings used were:

Exposure: 20-25 seconds

ISO: 600-800

Format: Shot in RAW

White balance: 4000-5000 (adjusted in post to suit)

Picture Profile Setting was Landscape – (although was adjusted in post but it gave a good starting point)

F Stop: 2.8

Interval: 1-3 seconds between the 20 to 25 second exposures.

Equipment:

Camera: Canon EOS 7D

Lens: Tokina 11-16 F/2.8

Filter: a no name brand UVF purely to protect the lens.

Tripod: Weifeng WF-717A

Intervalometer: Yongnuo TC-80N3a

Memory Card: Kingston 16GB CF

Music: from incomputech.com

I hope this has been a useful and informative post. It certainly has been educational and fun for me! If your unsure¬† about having a go at timelaspe I’d strongly encourage you to pick some settings, take afew test shots, adjust them, test some more, then just have a go. The more you shoot the better they will become. For more information on timelaspe and general shooting, check out Preston Kanak’s website and also¬† The Red Owl aka Tom Baurain did this tutorial on RAW Timelaspe workflow

 

About the author: John-Jo has been working in Canada for the last 6 months and is now in New Zealand waiting for the Snow season to start. He will be making films in Wanaka for Treble Cone and The Rookie Academy.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

