Arrow Valley Farm : : “Life in the Valley”

For the last 3 weeks I have been on Whatshan Cattle Co. Ranch in Edgewood B.C. I have been working for my food and accommodation and loving every minuet of it! Pouring concrete, making spindles for handrails, painted, cutting grass, fixing fences and anything else that life on the ranch required. We started at 9:00 AM and worked till 4:30 -5:30 depending on what was going on. Evenings were often spent on the deck, watching the sun go down, drinking local beer, followed by an awesome evening meal. The sleep here has been the best, deepest, most honest sleep I have possibly ever had.

 

When I could steal away from “work” I took my Canon 7D and tried to capture some of beauty of this place. They grow about 300 acres of hey, raise about 125 cattle, Bluehealers, Pomeranians along with a herd of horses! The nights that looked clear, I often set off  a timelapse. I have wanted to the light foreground of my timelapses for awhile and decided to do it by candle light. I had some issues with condensation on the lens, but thanks to a tip from Preston Kanak, I managed to get some Timelaspes I am pretty proud of. There are some in this video, but I will put a pure Timelapse piece soon-ish.

I didn’t set out to make a mini doco, I just wanted to be able to show people where I had spent my time between winters.

I spent my final day here pulling together my favorite clips and moments into this video. I welcome constructive criticism / comments, but please do take into account that this was more of an after thought than a preplanned production, limited editing time and non existent budget. 🙂

 

 

I hope you enjoy “Life on the Ranch”.

Please visit Arrow Valley Farm website if you have any inquiries about horse sales, hay sales, training, B&B.

If you have questions about horse training please go to Agora Horses.

John-Jo follows winter round the globe. His “summer” consists of  8 weeks a year (in two lots of 4) where spring comes into effect. To see more of his video work please go to his website .

 

11 thoughts on “Arrow Valley Farm : : “Life in the Valley”

  1. Catherine Ritson says:

    Loved ‘Life on the Ranch’ JJ ! Beautifully put together….looks an amazing place…scenery reminded me of South Island…..the horses in the night sky above the old truck was an inspired stroke..Wonderful ! x x x

  2. Emily says:

    wow….10:14 LOVE!

  3. Thanks Catherine. It is a really wonderful place, truly wholesome, good and honest.

  4. It was Anne who said “Now we just need horses running across the sky….” I aim to please. 🙂

  5. amanda says:

    This film is amazing well done John-jo!!

  6. Bre says:

    If this is what “an after thought” with “limited editing time” and a “non existent budget” is – I can’t imagine what you could create with time and $$$$ : ) I absolutely love this video, it brings tears to my eyes and I just cannot believe how you captured my mom and dad and our beautiful ranch. You are amazingly talented and we are so lucky to have you (and Kyra to of course!!!) Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!

    • Wow Bre!
      Thanks for the kind words. I just tried to show what it was like being there. The location is beautiful, and your folks are so welcoming and funny, and although I’m new to horses… even I could tell they are healthy, happy and have a pretty good life. Kyra LOVES them and it shows in how they interact when in training and when she goes to visit them after work.
      Inspiring stuff for sure.

      Next year for the branding I plan to be on ground crew. 😉
      Your mum has DVD’s for playing on the big screen.

  7. jasonmacqueen says:

    .

  8. Tom says:

    Aw wish i had a herd like that of my own 😦 the Ranch looks fantastic and the horses stunning. Such a fantastic bit of media advertising for this Ranch, a very professional promotional video. RideClass Productions strikes again!

Leave a Reply

