Astro Time Lapse Photography: Selecting Location

Creating a Timelapse of the Stars is addictive. I’m hooked. I can not put my finger on why exactly it seems to draw me in, but it does. It could be that because there are so many factors which have to come together for an Astrolapse, that the heavens truly have to align for it to be successful. Scuse the pun- but it is true!

As the moon wanes towards this weekend I am hoping to capture one a night and bring them all together in one long clip.

Last night was the second night in a row where I spent an hour or so walking round the ranch looking for the perfect spot to show not only The Milkyway but to also include some interesting foreground feature. I was hoping to use one of the large wooden gates to frame the stars.

Armed with my Canon 7D, intervalometer, tripod, stickytape, handwarmers, torch, matches, lighter, a red candle (“I love lamp) and a whole bunch of excitement I set off into the darkness. No moon means dark. The ranch I am staying on breeds horses, has bears (both black and grizzly), elk, deer and skunks wondering through all the time. So while trying not to use the torch so my night vision could kick in, I was also hoping not to bump into any unexpected wildlife. The horses make some very random, loud, un horse like noises when they are getting jiggy, or at least courting one another. So much so that several times that the loud growling sound bellowed down the valley I found myself frozen to the spot, wondering what a bear sounds like. It was soon followed by large thudding of hoofs and I regained my composure and continued my search for the perfect set up.

The final product is in post now, but here are some of the test shots I took while on my expedition.
Check back soon to see the final result.

In the end, I got the set up I was after. This is one still from the timelapse.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

