Winner Winner Chicken Dinner!

Last night I won the first ever Lake Louise Film comp! Had a load of support with about 30 people coming down to The Elk and Oarsman for the results. I was a tense hour as technical difficulties delayed results. We finally got to it about 10pm. We watched a few entries before we had to pick the under 18s winner Mark Teterenko . They then moved on to the main results. In 4th place was   this video    in 3rd was  evan lavallee from SHTCHA and they then showed the 2 last videos in no particular order. That was 403 media and mine. After that, the announced I had won 1st! Sooo happy! Won $500 in store credit at Banff Photography. I had already picked out a lens I wanted so bought it today. Tokina 11-16mm F2.8. Here is a quick test shot. Just had to try it out!

Above is the ungraded clip, below graded.

PP was Cinema with a little s curve in post and a small boost of saturation. It looked fine before but I just wanted to grade it.

 

 

I hope to get a chance to do some Astro TL’s with this lens soon but having to move out of our place so busy right now. End of season, packing up, sorting out, working out how much of my life I can fit into limited bag space. Wondering if I’ve used something enough for it to have earned its place in a bag, or if it is time to “leave” “trash” or “giveaway”. I’ve enjoyed snowboarding this year for sure, but now I feel fatigued and with the snow tuning into bullet proof till 10 and into porridge at 12… its just not worth it! It kills me to say that as I love spring riding, but there you go!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Winner Winner Chicken Dinner!

  1. The Pal Guy says:

    Congratulations on the win. When i originally saw your video i new it had potential and i voted for you. Hope that you continue to make great ski videos for next season.
    Cheers

  2. @the pal guy: Thanks man. Was pretty stoked to say the least. The best bit was that when Tourism Alberta picked up the comp and pushed it thought their social media I went 30% ahead in the votes, indicating it was view positively by the general public as well as by my friends.

Leave a Reply

