Northern Lights (Aurora Borealis) Time Lapse in Banff Canada.

This is the first shot in the Timelapse sequence. Was shot on 25th April 2012. There has been lots of solar activity this year, but trying to combine the solar storms with; night time, clear skies, early warnings, and not being asleep can be quite the challenge. Even when the stars do align (scuse the pun) the lights may not show up! I have been lucky enough to see them twice in the last week. This time I managed to capture some of the show in a Timelapse.

The aurora borealis has been going off recently so I decided to do an Astro timelapse with the hope of getting the lights in there as well. You can see the green glow on the horizon which is the Northern Lights.

Location: Banff, AB, Canada.

Camera: Canon EOS 7D.
Lens: 18-55mm F/ 3.5
Settings: ISO 1000. Shutter 20 sec. Shot in CRAW.
Minor correction in post (mainly just white balance).
Total time shooting was about 1hr 45 min. – I wanted to shoot longer but the cold got the better of me!
Every second of TL took about 13 mins to capture.

Creating this has inspired me to create more astro-timelapse while here in Canada as the stars here just blow me away.

Would love to be able to use a Kessler Slider with motion control to get some real camera movement. At this stage I am just really happy to have been able to witness and record such a cool event as this.

Below is a video I’ve entered into a film comp. The prize is $500 at Banff Photography. Should I be lucky enough to win I plan on buying a new lens; Tonika 11-16 mm F2.6 which would be PERFECT for astro timelapse.

Please watch the video and if you like it follow this link to vote. It is via Facebook, and the app will ask you to allow it, be assured it is a pretty non invasive app, mainly just needs your name etc to count votes and then if you want it to, it will post to your wall that you voted on it.

Thanks for taking the time to read my blog.

You can find more of my video work on my site

About the author:
Born in Warwick, England, John-Jo move north to The Borders, and the small town of Brampton. There he lived until he was 21. He then traveled to New Zealand and began snowboarding. Spending winters in Wanaka and summers in Sydney AU for 3 years he then began doing back to back winters between Wanaka, NZ and Banff Canada.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Northern Lights (Aurora Borealis) Time Lapse in Banff Canada.

  1. A dreamy photo. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Thanks Jeremy. Was really stoked with it myself. Had a few failed attempts to capture the lights and just didn’t think it was going to happen for me!

  3. The Pal Guy says:

    Nice time lapse of the Northern lights.

Leave a Reply

