“What they say”… Rookie Academy Video.

So I have just published a video for The Rookie Academy and thought I’d let you know what went into the making of it.

First here is the video:

Rookies asked for a video from the client’s point of view, just Ex Rookies talking about their time during the training.

I knew that I had some interview done on the snow, in lift lines, on chairs, at the side of the run etc etc but want to give the video some basic structure. To this end I contacted a few ex rookies and some just finishing the course to pin down some set interview.

Sound is often an issue recording on snow, due to wind, (and shitty in camera mic’s) so to be able to set up a dual sound system is awesome. Until you go to edit 😦

Sound syncing can be done a number of ways, software, time code, and the good old clapper board!
I feel like making a good old clapper board for a number of reasons, including having color grade indicators and a true white balance card. AND TO SYNC THE SOUND! Until then, saying 3,2,1,and clapping your hands (do all this twice) is the poor mans clapper!

Anyhoo… I set up with Tom in his front garden, filmed using the Canon 7D, my sony mp3 recorder as well as the Sony HDR HC3 as a B cam. I knew Tom from filming last year for hte rookies so we basically just had a chat about the last 2 years of his life, which have been pretty good 🙂 I didn’t end up using any of the B cam footage because I wanted the final video to be quite fast paced, with quick cuts between each person. If I had then cut to another angle of the same person I may have been hard to follow who was saying what and also may have looked like I was trying to make it seem like there were more people!

Was quite surprised at just how much footage I have on file for the Rookies, so had an enormous amount to choose from. In the end I just put the most relevant clips in and have the rest for another video later on should it be required.

Last year during my Canadian season Rookies asked me to put together 3 videos for them, which was possible as I had kept all the files of the season.

Also filmed Clair just before she left town, down by the lake with TC in the BG. I shot with same set up as Tom’s interview, and had the F-stop down around 2.4. This in fact gave a nice blur of TC to the point the TC was pretty much unrecognizable! However the effect I was after was achieved, Clair is what we are interested in, she is in focus, the beautiful snow capped mountains are there but not what we are looking at, more suggested and give a nice light airy feel.

The set interviews gave a nice solid feel to within which I could drop the more ad-hock unplanned clips from off the snow, as well as other interview done on the smaller sensor camera (HDR HC3).

Quite please with the video, added a bit of saturation and some other looks to try to blend the very different camera footage together. Also got to test out the new Cinestyle Picture Profile from technicolor in Tom’s interview. It gives a real flat picture, and grades perfectly with s curves. Will be shooting with it from now on 🙂

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

