Night shooting after ankle surgery. Peroneal retinaculum, brevis, subluxation.

Resting up at my folks place after ankle surgery has been tough. The fact that I have somewhere to come and recover is a blessing. Can only imagine what it must be like trying to get through something like this without the help and support of family. Non weight baring on my left leg for 7 weeks means crutches. Crutches are not fun, exciting or very functional. In fact they are a real pain to use. I have no idea why they do not come with nice padding on the handles? I have tapped some on as the palms of my hands were in agony.

One of my biggest struggles has been not being able to film or take photos. I can do some, but carrying gear is hard work. Setting up while balancing on one foot with 2 crutches swinging around on your arms is harder. I have to laugh when the crutches jab into the ground and then push my arm off its intended course. I feel like a puppet who’s master really liked to mess with them up! Still, big deep breaths, calm mind and a lot of planning can get me some of the way there.

Here is a photo I took last night. I really wanted to do a time-lapse but the battery died on my intervolometer. New battery today means time-laspe is running right now! Love setting the time-lapse of and hurrying out of shot. Will see what we have in the morning.

Longridge House Astro-2

The surgery I had was to fix a subluxing peroneal tendon. The retinaculum had been ripped after a fall. Once they got in there they realized the peroneal brevis was also partially torn and ended up tightening some ligaments in font of the ankle bone also. 7 week in a cast, 4 in a moon boot, physio, no running or sport for 5 months. Fun times.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Night shooting after ankle surgery. Peroneal retinaculum, brevis, subluxation.

  1. Jessica says:

    How has your recovery been so far? I had a similar surgery… both of my peroneal tendons were torn and subluxating. I had my surgery in May…im currently 10 weeks postop and currently in a walking boot…except in can barely walk! lol

    • Hey Jessica. Recovery is going really well thanks. Moonboot was strange the first few days. Gets better quick! Always bit stiff in the morning. You get used to it. People will keep telling you not to rush things. They are right…. do the time in the boot, do the physio as prescribed and all will be well! Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

