How many edits can you do in a year?

Having had my Canon 7D for 6 I have made countless videos with it. Some have never (and will never) see the light of day. Experimenting and going through the process from idea to posting on line is the most real training you can get.
Preston Kanak decided to make 1 short a day for a whole year! (visit his website for more info on this as well as heaps of other educational resources)
Now, I know my schedule is pretty much booked up from before day brake until, what time is it now? ah its now tomorrow 00:23! So I am busy- but after reading about making 365 edits!! I had the motivation to make a short. This is my first video of… well I’m not making any commitments yet… but following Prestons logic, the more videos I shoot, edit and post the better I will be at shooting, editing and posting. So here is number 1 of this new endevor to create as much as possible:

Shot on Canon EOS 7D, F1.8 50 and 18-55. Marvels PP. Graded Magic Bullet looks. Cut FCP.

Useful links:
Preston Kanak</a
>
Philip Bloom

Also my site

Thanks to both Preston and Philip who both inspire me to make better videos while also giving me the information required to do so.

About the author:
John-Jo has broken approximately 14 bones in his 28 years. Not bad going.
It started with his left clavicle at a young age and recently finished with his left clavicle having just turned 28. John-Jo is hoping these breaks are the bookends to his bone breaking but accepts the 2nd law of thermonuclear dynamics which states “Over time things move from a highly ordered state to a highly disordered state” AKA entropy.

Some of his injuries have happened while snowboarding, while most have not. John-Jo is currently in Banff National Park teaching Snowboarding and filming at Lake Louise.

John-Jo takes one large calcium pill each night before bed. :)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “How many edits can you do in a year?

  1. Melody Jane says:

    Good work. It’s always good to study with intense training schemes now and then. I’ve tried National Novel Writing Month and painting one picture a month. You do learn a lot, and the discipline is part of it, so I recommend setting yourself a tough goal and going for it. I’m contemplating Script Frenzy in April, too. Maybe I’ll try the short film challenge in summer!

  2. Neil Ritson says:

    I bet I can’t! I bet i neeed to log on nad sign up and all that jazz. Dr Neil

  3. celiaTudor-Evans says:

    Really enjoyed that John -Jo gave me an insight into the world of snowboarding. Cheers!

    Might see you in the next couple of years…
    Celia

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

